ALS Walk in memory of My Dad

Dear Family and friends,

 Hi! I hope that you are enjoying what very little Oregon summer we have left. I wanted to take a moment to speak with you about a disease and an organization that has become significant to my heart and my life over the past couple of years.   Please take a moment to read it and pass it along to others if you so feel the need.

 For those of you who don’t know, approximately 3 years ago my father Charles Gould was diagnosed with ALS (also known as Lou Gehrig’s disease). This disease is a completely fatal neuromuscular disease that kills nerve cells and deteriorates muscle tissue, making every day simple tasks such as walking and eating become a challenge. While the mind is unaffected throughout this process, it takes a huge toll on the person and families of the person affected by this disease, both from a financial and physical standpoint.

 I can’t describe how much my heart crumbled to see my father go from being a healthy man full of life, to barely being able to walk, talk, or button his own shirt. The whole process makes you question your own spirituality and mortality, and discover the true meaning of life.  Here I am, a year after my father’s passing, and while I have more good days than bad, I also have moments that feel just as real as the very day it happened. My goal is to continue to support and be an advocate for ALS, because while he may not be here in person, his spirit continues to shine in my life.

 Some family members and I are participating in a fundraiser called “Walk to Defeat ALS” this year in Salem, Oregon on Sept. 17th at Noon. This walk gives me a sense of hope and creates awareness, but most importantly creates funds for the ALS organization, which is directed toward finding a cure for this debilitating disease. If you are anything like me, there is always something else that you need money for, but I also know that most, if not all of us, also have a few dollars that could be spent on something much more selfless than a starbucks latte.:)

My team’s name is Chuckies Entourage. I would be grateful if you could join us in this event that is not only beneficial to your health, but to funding and research for ALS as well. Even if you can’t walk, it would be amazing to support the association. Let’s strike out ALS!

 Thank you in advance for your kindness and generosity. I know it means the world to my dad. Here is the link to my ALS homepage where you can donate to me, donate to our team, walk with us, or just simply donate:  http://webor.alsa.org/site/TR?px=2390275&fr_id=7352&pg=personal.

 

Love,

Bobbi

Leave a Reply

