Pre-30’s Crisis Revolt!

As promised, I have wrote something that won’t require tissues.

I’ve been dreading turning 30 since I turned 29 this last May. Why you ask? I sincerely am getting to the point where I believe aging scares me nearly as much as drag queens and closed spaces.  Just imagine me trapped in an elevator with RuPaul or something. Oh the travesty!  It’s not the whole age that bothers me per say, but the expectations that come along with a certain age. I mean, come on, we all know deep down we had set certain goals for ourselves by the age of 30. Whether your goal was to have 8 kids and become a reality show star getting paid to have 8 kids, (I have to mention this because it just disturbs me to the core), or to get married and purchase a home to raise a happy family, or to live a life of wanderlust and take things as they come along, we all had something in mind. Well I’m here to tell you the best thing you can possibly do for your life is to banish ALL societal expectations placed upon you, and here is why…

 When I was 21, 30 sounded light years away and I couldn’t possibly conceive where I might end up or what I would be doing with my life. I was in a long term relationship and I thought marriage and kids would probably be somewhere down the road, but as to when, I could not foresee.  At the end of that relationship, I decided it was time to take a journey and reflect on life for a while. I took time off work and I booked a month long trip in Europe, all alone.  It was by far the boldest move I’ve ever made in my life, and one of the most enriching as well, because on this quest I discovered a long lost person, MYSELF. It was at this moment that I realized all I wanted to do was travel the world and I didn’t want to conform at anyone or anything.  If a marriage and children happened, then it happened, but I was by no means looking for it, and if it did happen I wasn’t going to expect it to be the light at the end of my tunnel. A large majority of the population make checklists for themselves. 1.  go to school  2.  graduate and either go to college or get a job 3. find a suitable spouse to marry that will put up with me for years to come  4. reproduce so our genes carry on. Why do we feel it’s so necessary to accomplish such goals? Are these things we really want or are we programmed to feel like this?  I know I wanted this when I was 12, but this is because that is all that I knew. When do you take time off from the checklist just to LIVE?

 So as many old cat lady spinster and relationship failure jokes as I may receive, I know that I have a lot to look forward to in my life, and even though I may be crying in a bathroom stall over all those failed relationships and snuggling with my cat later on my 30th birthday, I’ll wake up in the morning and realize that I have reached my sexual peak and am categorically now of puma status and there’s a whole world out there waiting to be conquered.    Cheers to those who take the road less traveled…

~Live to Inspire~

Bobbi

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tim
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 03:10:13

    well said. 🙂 Well if you are crying all alone snuggling with your cat, I’ll bring hiro. And we can watch a movie 🙂

    Reply

  2. AO
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 00:21:48

    You write really well…pry because your so old but why ever is not important…at least you do think about life ..too many just drone through it, so i appreciate that..and your only as old as i think you look so yeah your good for at least two three more months..ha…for real good stuff right here and on the rest of your blurrbs blogs vents or whatever you prefer….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

