2008:Bittersweet Memories

It is time to reflect on the year 2008 in all it’s glory.  For me it was a year of extremes, filled with the highest of highs and the lowest of lows.  I’ ve had my heart ripped out of my chest and I’ve broke a few hearts along the way myself. I’ve been reprimanded and promoted. I’ve watched as 2 different family members suffered through severe physical and mental anguish due to unrecognized or unfamiliar ailments. I’ve formed bonds with new friends that have entered my life, and I’ve lost a few people I consider friends as well.  I’ve been shattered bruised and broken, but I’m still standing and it’s made me a stronger person because of it. My most significant AHA! moment of the year has to be there are  some things you have absolutely no control over; people will fall out of love with you or  succumb to illness.  You have to let go of the control for your own sanity.

Of course, it hasn’t all been so tumultuous. I’ve lived with some of the best roomates a girl could ask for and they’ve been there for me through it all.  They have vowed to throw rocks at boys with me, have kept me motivated to go to the gym(with the exception of the last 2 weeks..lol), have listened when I needed an ear, and have kept me distracted when it felt like the world was against me.  We have made quite a name for ourselves around this little town haven’t we girls?

There was the bar brawl with that, oh what’s her name Kirsten or Kristen or slutbag..ya that’s her name. Nobody calls me tuna unless I eat a tuna sandwich!  There was pin the booty on bobbi for my birthday. There was the night we dressed up like superheroes and flew around town overthrowing the aholes of the land for shelbys birthday. Anti- valentines day was superb. We tore up the town this summer too, partying down at Detroit Lake, slinging jello at the six, and dancing like there was no tomorrow. Who can forget going out in Portland for Halloween, or Dirty Love?  Slap my bass! (you have to watch the movie people)

To my other peeps, thank you for being there as well. As I look back, I can recount clubbing a giant girl that wouldn’t leave me alone with my purse, and taking a Britney Spears inspired party bus to Portland, and then there’s Mexico. Oh the memories from Puerto Vallarta could go on for days, but what I will cherish forever is watching my cousin get married on the beach and then seeing my whole family try to dance on a boat with gusty winds lifting up their dresses.

But the year was not all fun and games, as I worked hard to kiss some major ass and work my way up the totem pole at work. I received a couple of promotions, and while I am content with my current position, I am not happy working this absurd graveyard shift. At first it was kind of cool knowing that while my friends were going to work, I was settling down with a glass of wine to pass out at 10:00 am. But then I began passing out on the toilet, and then it became not so cool. So as is, I would say my career is a development in progress.  I’m not exactlly where I want to be, but I feel I’m on the right track;)

If any of you think you might have other memories to add, feel free. This is just a tiny sampling of the bittersweet memories of 2008.  I hope you all have a fabulous New Year while I’m working. Punks.

Leave a Reply

