Words of Inspiration

So I just got done watching the rest of the Bucket List movie and crying my eyes out until they were sore.If it wasn’t for the fact that it feels like a pack of rats were trying to eat me from the inside of my stomach out, I would certainly be out enjoying the heartfelt message this movie sent me.  FIND joy in your life.  For some of us it is easier than others to accomplish. We float along, working our jobs to make money which is always handy to have, but you as well as I know, it will not, and has never made anyone truly happy. What does make us happy?

Now this is a fairly broad concept to grasp considering there are people out there who are happy not knowing what is beyond their own doorstep.  They do the same thing, and have the same routine every day of their life. They get up, have a cup of coffee, breeze to work, sit on a computer punching in numbers all day (or possibly instant messaging all day–haha), try and race rush hour to get home, pet the dog, throw some food on the table for their family, catch some Z’s, and do it all over again the next day.   Or maybe you are just a single lonely man, who plays video games for a living, has a pet ferret, and dresses in drag and sometimes stalks underage girls on myspace.  Either way, I know that a routine is somewhat necessary to live a structured life, but is it absolutely proposterous to think there is more to life than what is beyond that every day mundane view of living?

There are people in other countries who do not have anywhere near the materialistic goods that we possess, yet they are some of the happiest people in the world because they know what brings true joy to their life.  I believe happiness is found in spending time with your loved ones, exploring your imagination (which rapidly decreses the more we become accustomed to this humdrum every day existence), doing something that makes us laugh or smile, and being gratfeul for everything we have. It is about being passionate in everything that we do. I find joy in entertaining my friends with my stupidity, in splurging on that pair of heels because they make me feel like the hottest girl in the room, in random night outs with my roomies because they are my family, in seeing my nephew walk, in sobering up at an after party, in attempting to cook (lol-one day it will happen), in writing, in dressing up for no good reason other than I can, in long meaningful conversations that inspire me or challenge my way of thinking, in finding an expensive shirt for dirt cheap, in dancing naked(ya i said it), in Venice, in people watching, in getting all jacked up on hot cocoa, in surprises, in feeling the sand between my toes at the beach, in watching sunsets, in seeing elderly couples who still hold hands, in taking photographs when nobody is looking, in celebrating birthdays, in strawberries, and in making the most of it!  Sometimes I wonder how long I am going to be able to burn the candle at both ends, but until that time comes… heed my words of advice and don’t take life so seriously.  We may not be perfect souls, but the closer we get to discovering the true meaning of life, the more knowledge we have, and that is simply beautiful.

Carpe Diem!

Leave a Reply

